SERVICE SPECIALIST FOR INDUSTRIAL COMPUTED TOMOGRAPHY

Research and development at Microvista


Since 2011, Microvista has been investing in research and development for image enhancement in CT scans and the automatic evaluation of scans with regard to dimensional and structural IO/NIO criteria.

Since the beginning of this year, we have been supported by another employee who will work as an innovation assistant on a new research and development project funded by the state of Saxony-Anhalt with support from the European Social Fund of the European Union (ESF). We would like to inform you about this project in the following.

The project "Investigation to improve the image quality of CT images for the automation of structural examinations" runs from 01.01.2019 to 31.12.2019 and will be carried out at our site in Blankenburg (Harz).

When inspecting components by means of computed tomography, the different attenuation of the X-ray radiation hitting each individual detector cell is exploited to generate images for each projection. These attenuation differences then manifest themselves in the reconstructed volume data set as constructively desired internal voids or as grey value differences in areas of theoretically homogeneous material. These unexpected grey value differences can be caused by structural defects such as structural loosening and pores, but also by inclusions of a foreign material.

When materials are to be distinguished that have a similar density, there is often a lack of sufficiently high contrast. Within the framework of the project, suitable examination parameters and strategies are to be found in order to achieve an improvement in contrast.

If the innovation is successful, Microvista would be able to evaluate layer analyses and possibly other structural examinations automatically instead of manually so far, so that these can be offered at a more attractive price.

Förderung Sachsen-Anhalt
Europäische Förderung

Dienstleistungsspezialist für Industrielle Computertomographie

Forschung und Entwicklung bei Microvista


Seit 2011 investieren wir in Forschung und Entwicklung zur Bildverbesserung bei CT-Aufnahmen und der automatischen Auswertung der Aufnahmen hinsichtlich maßlicher und struktureller IO/NIO-Kriterien.

Seit Anfang diesen Jahres werden wir dabei durch einen weiteren Mitarbeiter unterstützt, der sich als Innovationsassistent einem durch das Land Sachsen-Anhalt mit Unterstützung des Europäischen Sozialfonds der Europäischen Union (ESF) geförderten neuen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsvorhaben widmen wird. Über dieses Vorhaben möchten wir im Folgenden informieren.

Das Projekt „Untersuchung zur Verbesserung der Bildqualität von CT-Aufnahmen für die Automatisierung von Strukturuntersuchungen“ läuft im Zeitraum vom 01.01.2019 bis zum 31.12.2019 und wird an unserem Standort in Blankenburg (Harz) durchgeführt.

Bei der Prüfung von Bauteilen mittels Computertomographie wird zur Bilderzeugung für jede Projektion die unterschiedliche Abschwächung der Röntgenstrahlung, die auf jede einzelne Detektorzelle trifft, ausgenutzt. Diese Abschwächungsunterschiede manifestieren sich in dem rekonstruierten Volumendatensatz dann als konstruktiv erwünschte innere Hohlräume oder als Grauwertunterschiede in Bereichen von theoretisch homogenem Material. Diese unerwarteten Grauwertunterschiede können durch Strukturfehler wie Gefügeauflockerungen und Poren, aber auch durch Einschlüsse eines Fremdmaterials entstehen.

Wenn Materialien unterschieden werden sollen, die über eine ähnliche Dichte verfügen, fehlt es oft an einem ausreichend hohen Kontrast. Im Rahmen des Projekts sollen geeignete Untersuchungsparameter und -strategien gefunden werden, um eine Kontrastverbesserung zu erreichen.

Ist die Innovation erfolgreich, wäre es Microvista möglich Schichtanalysen und ggf. weitere Strukturuntersuchungen automatisch statt bisher manuell auszuwerten, so dass diese zu einem attraktiveren Preis angeboten werden können.

Förderung Sachsen-Anhalt
Europäische Förderung