Reverse Engineering

Component digitalisation and CAD preparation

The creation of a digital visualisation of a real component in order to prepare a CAD model is a task with a high relevance for everyday practice. Among experts, this procedure is called reverse engineering. A reverse engineering project is for example called for if there is no (current) drawing or a consistently maintained CAD dataset available for a component. In most cases, the construction of a CAD model based on a drawing is very time-consuming and therefore associated with high costs. The same applies to changing an existing CAD model that does not fully comply with the real component. In general, reverse engineering is a more efficient and faster approach with digitalisation of the component being the first step that is required. In dependence of the component, Microvista uses the optimal digitalisation procedure (optical 3D scanning, CT scanning or a combination of both) and uses the data resulting from the scan to create a surface model (STL) consisting of many triangular meshes.

Reverse_Engineering_gr

Reverse_Engineering_2_gr

The second step of the reverse engineering process is creating the CAD model in dependence of task formulation which has been precisely defined in advance. In compliance with customer-specific requirements for the CAD model, Microvista will choose the method which is best suited to the task. Experience has shown that one of the following three procedures or a combination thereof can always be applied to achieve the desired results.

1. Automatic surface reconstruction (automatic generation of patch layout)
2. Manual surface reconstruction (manual generation of patch layout)
3. Constructive surface reconstruction (patch layout is reconstructed by means of sections)


It is possible to transfer the final CAD model in all current CAD formats into a surface model (e.g. .prt, .CATPart) or a closed-volume surface model (e.g. .stp / .step, .igs / .iges). The targeted implementation enables Microvista to guarantee an optimal cost-benefit-ratio for each reverse engineering project, which is reflected by customer satisfaction.

microvista_teaser_start

Reverse Engineering

Bauteildigitalisierung und Erstellung CAD

Von einem realen Bauteil ein digitales Abbild zu erzeugen, um auf dieser Basis ein CAD-Modell zu erstellen, ist eine Aufgabenstellung, die eine hohe Praxisrelevanz besitzt. Dieses Vorgehen wird in Fachkreisen als Reverse Engineering bezeichnet. Ein Reverse Engineering-Projekt wird beispielsweise erforderlich, wenn es zu einem Bauteil weder eine (aktuelle) Zeichnung noch einen konsequent gepflegten CAD-Datensatz gibt. Die konstruktive Erstellung eines CAD-Modells auf Basis einer Zeichnung ist in den meisten Fällen äußerst zeitaufwendig und dadurch mit hohen Kosten verbunden. Gleiches gilt für die Änderung eines eventuell vorhandenen CAD-Modells, welches nicht zu 100% dem Realbauteil entspricht. Der bessere und schnellere Weg führt erfahrungsgemäß über das Reverse Engineering und dabei im ersten Schritt über die Digitalisierung des betreffenden Bauteils. Microvista setzt dazu bauteilspezifisch das optimale Digitaliserungsverfahren (optischer 3D-Scan oder CT-Scan oder die Kombination aus beiden) ein und erstellt auf Basis der Scan-Daten ein Flächenmodell (STL), welches aus vielen Dreiecksmaschen besteht.

Reverse_Engineering_gr

Reverse_Engineering_2_gr

Im zweiten Schritt des Reverse-Engineering-Prozesses wird je nach Aufgabenstellung, welche im Vorfeld präzise definiert wird, das CAD-Modell erstellt. In Abhängigkeit von den Anforderungen, die der Kunde an das CAD-Modell stellt, wählt Microvista das jeweils optimale Verfahren. Erfahrungsgemäß führt eines der drei folgenden Vorgehensweisen oder eine Kombination aus diesen stets zum gewünschten Ergebnis:

  1. Automatische Flächenrückführung (Patch-Layout wird automatisch erzeugt)
  2. Manuelle Flächenrückführung (Patch-Layout wird manuell aufgebaut)
  3. Konstruktive Flächenrückführung (Patch-Layout wird über Schnitte rückkonstruiert)

Die Übergabe des finalen CAD-Modells ist in allen gängigen CAD-Formaten als Flächenmodell (z.B. .prt, .CATPart) oder als zum Volumen geschlossenes Flächenmodell (z.B. .stp / .step, .igs / .iges) möglich. Durch die zielgerichtete Umsetzung kann Microvista für jedes Reverse Engineering-Projekt ein optimales Kosten-Nutzen-Verhältnis gewährleisten, welches sich regelmäßig in der Kundenzufriedenheit widerspiegelt.

Für spezielle Anforderungen und Wünsche nutzen Sie bitte das Anfrageformular oder kontaktieren Sie
Michael Mülller per Telefon: 03944 950-56 bzw. per E-Mail: michael.mueller [ at ] microvista.de
.